المستقبل

تشمل مزرعة القرن الجديد توسعة الإنتاج الغذائي المحلي غير الربحي الحالي مع ترقيات إلى منطقة المبنى التاريخي لتوفير وصول عام أفضل. تركيب ثلاثة مسارات رئيسية في جميع أنحاء الموقع تتصل بحديقة هانتر ران بارك في ولاية أيوا ، والتغييرات في استخدام الأراضي التي تسمح بتأجير قطع أراضي أصغر للمزارعين المبتدئين ، ومنشأة زراعية جديدة ستوفر التدريب للمزارعين ، وتنمية الإسكان.

074_JCHPF_Finals (3).jpg

الخطة الرئيسية

بعد عملية RFP تنافسية في عام 2016 ، اختار مجلس المشرفين في مقاطعة جونسون HBK Engineering و Iowa Valley RC&D للمساعدة في عملية التخطيط الرئيسية لمزرعة جونسون كاونتي التاريخية التاريخية (JCHPF). على مدار 18 شهرًا ، تضمنت عملية التخطيط الرئيسية مناقشات مع مجلس المشرفين وعدد من مجموعات أصحاب المصلحة. قدمت هذه المناقشات مدخلات قيمة لإكمال المرحلة الأولى مع مشرفي المقاطعة الذين اختاروا مفهوم مزرعة القرن الجديد للدخول في المرحلة الثانية من الخطة الرئيسية. هذه المرحلة الثانية حققت كذلك في تفاصيل الإدارة المالية للموقع وفقًا للخطة المحددة. اعتبارًا من يناير 2018 ، دخل JCHPF الآن في المرحلة الثالثة: التنفيذ مع حدوث العديد من التغييرات على الموقع ، مثل إنشاء قطعة أرض الملقحات التي تبلغ مساحتها 15.5 فدانًا ، وتركيب لافتات المدخل ، وترميم West Barn.

110_JCHPF_Finals.jpg

السنة الأولى

ركزت السنة الأولى من تنفيذ الخطة الرئيسية على تنظيف الموقع وتحسين صحة التربة لبرنامج الوصول إلى الأراضي. تم زرع 10 أفدنة على الجانب الشمالي الغربي من West Barn في مزيج الشوفان والبرسيم لإعداد الأرض للانتقال بعيدًا عن ممارسات الزراعة التجارية ونحو الممارسات الزراعية الصغيرة التي تستخدم المعايير المعتمدة للنمو الطبيعي. تم بناء علامة مدخل مميزة لتمييز المدخل الشمالي الغربي للزوار والمتطوعين. تم إنشاء موطن ملقح مساحته 15.5 فدان جنوب منطقة الإنتاج الغذائي المجتمعي. موطن الملقح هذا يشمل البذور من مناطق الحفاظ على مقاطعة جونسون بالإضافة إلى مزيج من النباتات مثل Late Figwort و Hairy Mount Mint.

IMG_0101-Edit.jpg

السنة الثانية

كان أحد التحسينات الرئيسية في الموقع هو الترميم الشامل لحظيرة الشاشة لعام 1916 - West Barn. تضمنت عملية الترميم استبدال الأساس الخرساني المكسور والنازح ، وصب أرضية خرسانية جديدة لتوفير إمكانية الوصول إلى المبنى الذي تم تجديده ، وتم إصلاح الإطار الخشبي الأصلي للمبنى وتربيعه ، واستعادة المبنى إلى تكوينه الأصلي ، مع استكماله الأصلي أكشاك الخيول على طول الجزء الجنوبي من الحظيرة. تم الانتهاء من عملية الترميم هذه لضمان استقرار West Barn وإطالة عمرها كمساحة تجمع لأحداث الهواء الطلق المستقبلية. تم إطلاق برنامج الوصول إلى الأراضي وتم إنشاء مزرعتين على مساحة فدانين - مالج وخطأ والتحرك 4.

009_JCHPF_Finals.jpg

السنة الثالثة

نحن حاليا في عامنا الثالث من التنفيذ. لقد كنا محظوظين هذا العام لتوسيع برنامج الوصول إلى الأراضي ليشمل عددًا قليلاً من المزارع الصغيرة وإدخال ترقيات ، مثل محطة غسيل ثانية ، وري محسن للمياه ، وممر. لسوء الحظ ، نظرًا لوباء الصحة العالمي COVID-19 ، لم نتمكن من تقديم المزرعة كمكان للتجمع للأحداث ، لكننا ما زلنا نشجع الناس على زيارة الموقع!

The Future

The New Century Farm includes expansion of the current non-profit, local food production with upgrades to the historic building area to provide better public access, installation of three major trails throughout the site that connect to Iowa City’s Hunter’s Run Park, changes to the land use that allow for smaller plots to be leased to beginning farmers, a new farm facility that will provide training to farmers, and a housing development.

Master Plan

Following a competitive RFP process in 2016, the Johnson County Board of Supervisors selected HBK Engineering and Iowa Valley RC&D to assist with the Master Planning process for the Johnson County Historic Poor Farm (JCHPF). Over the course of 18 months, the Master Planning process included discussions with the Board of Supervisors and a number of stakeholder groups. These discussions provided valuable input for the completion of the first phase with the County Supervisors choosing the New Century Farm concept to usher in Phase Two of the Master Plan. This second phase further investigated the details for fiscally managing the site per the outlined plan. As of January 2018, the JCHPF is now in Phase Three: Implementation with several changes occurring on the site, such as the establishment of the 15.5-acre pollinator plot, installation of the entrance signage, and restoration of the West Barn.

Year One

The first year of implementation of the Master Plan centered on cleaning up the site and improving the soil health for the Land Access Program. 10-acres on the northwest side of the West Barn was seeded into an oats and clover mix to prepare the land for transitioning away from commercial farming practices and toward small farm practices that utilize Certified Naturally Grown Standards. A landmark entrance sign was built to mark the northwest entrance for visitors and volunteers. A 15.5 acre pollinator habitat was established just south of the community food production area. This pollinator habitat includes seed from Johnson County Conservation areas as well as a mix of plants such as Late Figwort and Hairy Mount Mint.

Year Two

One of the main site improvements was an extensive restoration of the 1916 monitor barn - the West Barn. The restoration included replacing the broken and displaced concrete foundation, pouring a new concrete floor to provide accessibility into the renovated building, and the original wood frame of the building was repaired and squared, restoring the building back to its original configuration, complete with the original horse stalls along the southern portion of the barn. This restoration was completed to ensure the West Barn’s stability and extend its life as a gathering space for future open-air events. The Land Access Program was launched and two small farms were established - Trowel and Error and Moving 4ward.

Year Three

We are currently in our third year of implementation. This year we were fortunate to expand the Land Access Program to include a few more small farms and include upgrades, such as a second washing station, improved water irrigation, and a driveway. Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 global health pandemic, we were unable to offer the farm as a gathering place for events or historic tours but we still encourage people to visit the site!

© 2020 by Astig Planning